百周年盛事

百周年紀念展覽 展出珍藏展品

2019年4月16日

一百年來,東亞銀行與每一代香港人同步奮鬥。為慶祝創行一百周年 ,東亞銀行於2018年10月24日在國際金融中心舉行百周年慶祝活動的揭幕典禮。 主席兼行政總裁李國寶博士、副主席李國章教授及黃子欣博士宣布一連串的慶祝活動正式展開,當中包括「百年成就 成就百年」展覽。

展覽於國際金融中心中庭舉行,為期一星期,並已於2018年11月1日圓滿結束。展覽除展示東亞銀行過去百年的成就及對業界的貢獻外,更讓市民參觀者可與時序牆互動以瞭解東亞過去一個世紀的重要里程碑 ,且有機會欣賞到多件過往從未展出、極具歷史價值的珍藏展品。

這些珍貴藏品與香港歷史和銀行業界發展息息相關。其中,東亞銀行在1924年計劃發行的鈔票樣本,向參觀者展示了二十世紀初上海發展蓬勃的銀行業;在抗日戰爭期間發行的國防公債,讓參觀者了解昔日抗戰時期的艱苦歲月;早期前線職員穿著的傳統中式長衫制服,則展現了當時的服飾趨勢。

除了觀賞珍藏展品之外,參觀者也可在模擬東亞銀行1935年總行大堂舊式銀行櫃檯的背景前,拍攝擴增實境(AR)照片以作留念。

展覽別出心裁的設計和生動的展示,將東亞銀行傳奇的百年歷史活現眼前。

Carousel Celebration Ceremony
Carousel Celebration Bea Chairman
Carousel Celebration Exhibition
Carousel Celebration Typer

1/6

東亞銀行主席兼行政總裁李國寶博士,與一眾董事出席祝酒儀式。(由左至右):李民斌先生 / 范徐麗泰博士 / 李國星先生 / 副主席李國章教授 / 李國寶博士 / 副主席黃子欣博士 / 黃永光博士 / 李民橋先生

展覽設可互動的時序牆,讓參觀者更了解東亞銀行的百年發展歷程。李國寶博士示範互動過程。

金融管理局總裁陳德霖先生 (左)與李國寶博士(右)一同觀賞珍藏展品,部份更是首次向公眾展出。

19世紀後期美國發明機械計算機,當時被公認為算盤的進化版。操作員按動鍵盤,便可同時輸入數字的所有數位,提高效率之餘亦減少出錯的機會。直至電子計算機面世前,東亞銀行的前線和後勤人員都依賴機械計算機進行運算。

60年代初期,香港金融業開始高速增長,銀行業務進一步普及。東亞銀行推出低至港幣1元即可開戶的優惠,鼓勵兒童開設儲蓄賬戶。東亞銀行也經常送贈禮品吸引客戶,包括儲蓄箱和錢罌。

東亞銀行於1921年推出保管箱服務,是香港首間推出保管箱服務的銀行。展覽以1:8比例重現當年的舊式保管箱。

EN

CENTENARY CELEBRATIONS

A Rare Glimpse of History at BEA’s 1OOthAnniversary Exhibition

16th April, 2019

For a century, The Bank of East Asia has served the people of Hong Kong. As part of its centenary celebrations, the Bank held a launch ceremony on 24th October, 2018 at ifc Mall. Dr. David K.P. Li, Chairman & Chief Executive of BEA, together with Professor Arthur Li, Deputy Chairman of BEA, and Dr. Allan Wong announced a series of centenary celebration activities, including The Bank of East Asia’s 100th Anniversary Exhibition.

Located in the Oval Atrium of ifc Mall, the exhibition ran for one week, concluding successfully on 1st November, 2018. In addition to providing information on the Bank’s achievements and contributions to the banking industry over the past 100 years, the exhibition enabled visitors to interact with a timeline wall, and view rare historical artifacts from BEA’s archives that had never been on display.

Many of the items were closely connected to significant historical events and developments at the Bank and in Hong Kong. BEA specimen notes from 1924 gave visitors a glimpse of Shanghai’s dynamic banking industry in the early 20th century, while Chinese National Salvation bonds issued during the Sino-Japanese War were a reminder of a period of great hardship. The display of traditional cheongsams worn by frontline staff revealed trends of the past.

In addition, visitors could take Augmented Reality photos in front of an image of the bank teller counter located in BEA’s former Main Branch in 1935. Collectively, the items on exhibit brought a century of history at BEA to life.

1/6

BEA Chairman and Chief Executive Dr. David Li raises a toast with other Directors. (Left to right): Mr. Brian Li / Dr. the Hon. Rita Fan / Mr. Aubrey Li / Professor Arthur Li (Deputy Chairman) / Dr. David Li / Dr. Allan Wong (Deputy Chairman) / Dr. Daryl Ng / Mr. Adrian Li

The interactive timeline wall at the exhibition gives visitors a closer look at BEA’s century of history. Dr. David Li demonstrates how it works.

Mr. Norman Chan (left), Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority and Dr. David Li (right) admires the exhibits, many of which are on public display for the first time.

Invented in the US in the late 19th century, the comptometer was a mechanical calculator that was considered an advancement over the abacus. Operated by keys, the comptometer allowed its operator to input every digit of a number at once, which improved efficiency and reduced the chance of error. BEA's frontline and back office personnel relied on comptometers until the advent of the electronic calculator.

In the early 1960s, Hong Kong's financial sector began to expand rapidly and banks reached out to the mass market, which included children, who were encouraged to open savings accounts with as little as one dollar. To attract customers, BEA and other banks regularly gave out gifts to customers, including savings boxes and piggy banks.

Embracing the spirit of innovation, BEA was the first bank in Hong Kong to introduce safe deposit box service in 1921. The historic safe deposit boxes were recreated in 1:8 ratio to let visitors learn more about the service.